Hard Times in Hornsville

Author: Unlikely
Version: 0.75 (Public) 0.85 (Patreon)
Last Updated: 2017-12-12 13:29:24


Review by Pernitax
Version reviewed: 0.71 (Public) 0.81 (Patreon) on 2017-11-21 09:41:17

Just reviewing this again because I love the new avatar system. Seeing the character I created dressed up in humiliating clothing is a huge turn on, maybe even better than seeing the body change when you get feminized. It combos really well with the sissy content that just got in.

I hope we get more fethish related clothing in the future as well, especially something for the more MM orinted storylines. Maybe the latex bodysuit you can end up in at the mansion? Or a new fetish clothes shop?
Anyway, keep up the good work!


Review by Unlikely
Version reviewed: 0.62 (Public) 0.72 (Patreon) on 2017-10-27 06:09:00

I am adding this review to my own game because I have not found another way to respond to reviews.

pingguo: The version number change was done because people kept being confused about what is available in which version of the game.
This is a one time thing and won't happen again.
Both patron and public versions of the game update once per month with extra content. Both patron and public versions of the game get bugfixes and tweaks as needed. Patrons get new content a month earlier than non-patrons.
A change of the first digit (like from 0.6 to 0.7) indicates a content update while a change in the second (like from 0.61 to 0.62) indicates a bugfix.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.62 (Public) 0.72 (Patreon) on 2017-10-25 21:03:38

v0.67

The game is good. It has a good sense, some good 3D images and enough branches that works.

What I want to complain is the versioning. Since the game went Patreon, the version is shifting back and forth. I had 0.54 when a new 0.47 or something like that launched. Now there is this 0.62 (Public) 0.72 (Patreon) build. I checked my saves. I have version 0.67. So... where am I now?

v0.54

It is a good game. Not as good as Perverted Education which has a centered theme, this one branches off and if you pick a not so interesting branch you may get bored. Now if you focus yourself in sub sissy maid path it is pretty neat. Hair stylor is something nice that can go deeper. Clinic can use some control so that people has to work for it. The maid path is nice, and the best part in this game. BDSM club is nice if you go the submissive path, I have not tried out the other paths.

What is behind the pay wall right now, is the mall, toys shop and another item or two, which is not a lot. What is already there is enough to make it interesting. The game starts to run out of content to me on the 30+ game days and I got past day 60s before I call it a quit. That says something.

I think if you like Perverted Education, you should at least give this one a chance.


Review by ggot
Version reviewed: 0.61 (Public) 0.71 (Patreon) on 2017-10-24 16:24:21

The Good: Hornsville has a huge amount content, takes a more than a week to see them all for a newcomer. Dozens of NPCs to meet with, to date with, to fuck with. Lot of different fetishes. Cool avatar system. Works on on OSX and can be downloaded. Works on Linux as well. The best thing is the regular monthly updates, it is clear that the creator takes developement seriously.

The Bad: This is a game in developement. It is not complete, and who knows when it will be. Graphics are quality 3D renders but they are in small resolution and I wanted to see more of them. You have to wait 1 month to get the next version if you are not a patron of the game.

The Ugly: For me, more vanilla MtF and FM content would be better. For instance, you go to the Club in Hornsville, and almost immediatelly you'll find yourself in a hardcore BDSM orgy. Gross :)


Review by DrChaoz
Version reviewed: 0.61 (Public) 0.71 (Patreon) on 2017-10-23 06:54:18

I wished there were cheats to make it easier to explore the different paths instead of grinding. Currently, it's hard to earn money without having to go the sissy or transformation path. If so, how to try out the domination path?


Review by Winter1
Version reviewed: 0.61 (Public) 0.71 (Patreon) on 2017-10-22 15:40:32

This game is well made and has some interesting characters and places to explore.

However, it also has a lot of grind to it to raise certain attributes or jump through hoops with characters to get to new scenes with them, and then the bad ends come very suddenly and shut it all down. I would encourage the author to rethink if such bad ends or so much grind is really necessary. I have to say it impacted my desire to play again. 


Review by Ghosthand64
Version reviewed: 0.61 (Public) 0.71 (Patreon) on 2017-10-22 09:21:13

With the new content coming out tomorrow (hopefully) for the free site I thought I'd post some feedback on the current content.

First off, I love the game. The stories make sense and are pretty easy to follow. A lot of different ways to go and it doesn't focus just on one thing but lets the player decide what they want to do.

The layout looks great in Chrome but not so good with IE, I just use Chrome to play :) I like all the customizations to the avatar, I went from a normal looking white male to a sexy black girl with a medium length afro. Most games don't have so many cool looking hairstyles or other options. (I have a hair fetish... along with many others...) I understand the difficulties with adding clothing to the avatar but I do wish that when you inspect yourself that it displayed a larger avatar picture.

I can tell that most of the storylines are a work in progress but that's fine! You are giving us regular updates and adding tons of content! What more can we ask for? I just want to address the unfinished stories shortly though.

Submission story, awesome so far! It's hard at some points and very erotic. I can't wait for updates to that.

Dominant story, I don't know too much about it, I prefer to be the submissive.

M-F story was pretty easy and not too noteworthy. I would prefer a story where you are forcefully transformed with a reason behind it beside that you signed up to take a pill.

The Sissy story was rather tame. As a huge fan of salons I could see a lot of room for expansion here. Lilly doesn't really embarrass the PC too badly which seems to be her main motivation for what she is doing. I also thing that if the PC loses their male equipment she would lose interest in them. After all, she wants to turn them into a sissy, not a woman. I could see her ordering them to go to the clinic to become more feminine looking but not loose their male part, maybe even getting it enlarged! It would be nice if she also started training them to work at the salon, starting out as a shampoo 'girl' and working up to a stylist.

The maid story is the one I see as complete. I loved it and getting the good(?) ending was a slight challenge, even more so if you don't read the walkthrough! two small thing I would have like to see though. I wish Mrs. Spencer had the PC in a full maid outfit while still cleaning their own house! How humiliating would that have been, running around your own home in a sexy maid outfit cleaning while your housekeeper sat back in casual clothing ordering you about :)

The other thing was your submissive/dominance level played no part in your conversations with her, which made no sense to me. Mrs. Spenser seems to be a very dominant person and a extremely submissive PC would have been easy to control. I could see Mrs. Spenser ordering the PC to wear aprons or a maid cap and the PC meekly obeying without question. It would still be a voluntary story because all the PC would need to do is stop going to see her, which makes more sense as that is what a submissive person would do, avoid the situation so they don't have to stand up and say no. A dominant person would probably not stand for any of her behavior or requests, unless they wanted to become a maid! And later on in the story a submissive PC would have given in without question when they had sexual advances on them or told to give a foot rub.

Well, there's my feedback. Looking forward to the new content!!! And thank you for the great game!


Review by Infinte_9
Version reviewed: 0.68 on 2017-10-19 12:39:14

great game tho i wanted to be a patreon to play full version. everytime i try to be patreon of yours, it says your cart was declined and can never buy someting on internet until i go to the bank. just so you know the problem ...


Review by ballpaperbox
Version reviewed: 0.68 on 2017-10-17 15:57:45
Save files dissappear if you shut down the game. There appears to be no way to save to the computer even when downloading the game. It has potential but this makes it too much of a hassle for me.

Review by exprmntle
Version reviewed: 0.65 on 2017-10-06 07:38:51

This is a fun game with a nice open structure and a several sexy subplots..


Review by fixsxd
Version reviewed: 0.51 on 2017-08-21 14:22:03

hi

Majority of the content is under pay wall.

what is absolutely not false=>

A html game with a unity starter.

Basic stat and tf system that controlled by events.

the main contentis in multiple storylines that are half baked(not even 1 finished. exemp some gameover)

the game hasa modified avatar sytem (actual clothes are not suported)

this game provides many typ of fetish content but do not satisfy any of it.

 

Personal opinion:this game is like a klickbait. (hopefully prooven wrong in time)


Review by ekhnaton
Version reviewed: 0.42 on 2017-07-22 11:44:05

The game already had a lot of fun encounters but the last update made it even better. Both the maid storyline and the BDSM club are really well done and extremely hot with lots of diverse scenes. I'm not interested in the gay content and thankfully it's easy to avoid but there seems to be a lot of that as well.

This one is definietly worth a try. And if you don't pledge, make sure to check out the update too, once it becomes public. I hope the author will continue on like this for a long time.


Review by Cptn Spalding
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-19 17:26:24

    For a game in it's early stages, theres a lot of content here, and good content too. It gets a little grindy sometimes but I think that will become less of an issue as the game fleshes out a little more. Like most sandbox type games the encounters can get a little repetitive at times but the scenes serve their purpose and do it well

   I'd like to see a way of being able to see the same prostitute again, maybe get their phone number. Reason being is its time consuming trying to sift through the randomly generated prostitutes to find one with attributes you're looking for. I'd like to see a way to save the ones you like so you could us e them again.

   Games with Patreon pages seem to be getting more and more common these days, but I can honestly say Hard Times In Hornsville is worth pledging. I'm eager to see where this game goes.


Review by AliSlut
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-18 00:32:24

It seems pretty good so far, bit lacking content at the moment.  Really looking forward to seeing more from this game.


Review by lingard
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-17 16:29:19

While the previous review is a bit harsh, to put it more diplomatically, I believe that most games running patreon tiers usually update here with the current PUBLIC build. Patreons are likely going directly to the patreon page, and those interested can follow the Support link on the sidebar.  It can be somewhat of a letdown to read about such a massive update, with NO indication the text that said update is patreon only (unless I just missed it on my tiny screen), only to be unable to access the content when clicking on the link to play or download.

 

Edit:

Oops, it IS there and I did miss it.

Still, it would be less of a cruel tease to just update the public build here.

Also, shouldn't 07.16 push 07.15 to public now ;P


Review by Someonelse
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-17 07:55:34

So you updated it and posted about it here but the new content is only available to people who paid for it?

 

So basically you haven't updated it.

 

I'm taking away my like of this game screw you


Review by DarcWing21
Version reviewed: 0.4 on 2017-07-16 15:20:11

Love this game! Not sure what the issue is, but when I download and install it and try to run it, the play game window comes up, but upon clicking, it opens a new window with nothing in it. I've re-downloaded it twice and same issue. Am playing online for now until issue is resolved. Dealing with huge black space between character screen and text. Would suggest making character screen bigger and or variable in size. Keep up the good work.


Review by missrachellane
Version reviewed: 0.345 on 2017-06-29 21:34:11

Love what's here so far, absolutely worth a try if it sounds interesting to you. As long as the great work is kept up, this will be on the -must play- list.


Review by navigator_dan
Version reviewed: 0.343 on 2017-06-23 07:34:06

Good start. Exactly what fans of "easy transformation in open world" need. :-)

I hope that the author has enough stamina and time to continue with the development. Good luck.

 

P.S. Can we have save to file feature, please?


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 0.315 on 2017-06-20 09:41:16

The white space bug is fixed but as some one told before me we can rename the game to 'Scrol Down' that is spot on. (big pictures are prety but not after a long time)

This easily solved by placing it to the background or minisized to the right. (or simply code it to resize itself to screen size)

The game itself is not bad for an entrance :)

 


Review by Zer0zero
Version reviewed: 0.315 on 2017-06-20 09:04:10

This game is named incorrectly.  I think "Scrol down" would be a much more apt name.


Review by Vane
Version reviewed: 0.31 on 2017-06-19 10:01:29

Really nice implementation so far. Nice graphics and interface. Complexity is not too much to get lost in stats and not too little to become boring too fast, just about right dosage planned I think. Looks pretty stable to be expanded later.

Only con for me so far is the lack of content or choices. Many placeholders like the mall or strip club or current jobs available. If you are not interested in MM there currently is just the maid sissy path I think. With that you just do the same all the time and also with the crossdressing/ body transformation content, which I consider both rather as side stories, because the only choice is to go on with it or not (avoid bad ending) which seems the overall concept of most content and makes it repetitive.

 


Review by centerflag982
Version reviewed: 0.31 on 2017-06-19 04:52:08

Holy shit, a quasi-realistic lifesim with a full range of transgender/sexual options? Where have you been all my life?!

Seriously, the concept itself is enough for me to love it, even if it's somewhat limited in content at present.

 

That said, there's one particular issue that jumps out at me - as others have mentioned, the constant need to scroll to reach options at home and outside is kind of irritating. You might want to consider sizing down the images a bit, and reducing font size by one or two points as well.

There's also the fact that your character's portrait doesn't display your hairstyle - but I figure that's more just a WIP than a design decision. Oh, and that "shoulder-length" displays as (an IMO much less attractive) chin-length.


Review by Kelpsie
Version reviewed: 0.31 on 2017-06-18 23:37:10

Quite good so far. Loved the maid stuff, role reversal stuff like that really gets my goat.


Only major complaint I had was that whitespace bug, which you fixed.

 

Get some more content in there, and you'll have something great c:


Review by bearclaw01234
Version reviewed: 0.31 on 2017-06-18 22:44:09

It sounded very interesting so i thought to try it (i normally don't go to external sites just to play games on here), & just started so can't give a review yet..  though it certainly would help if there was a download link for the game.


Review by johnnynod
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-18 09:45:41

I'd like to see a gender-switch option...preferably a slow transition...for those who are into that kind of thing.

 

(EDIT 6/18: My bad! Gender switch options are indeed implemented within the "Lab" options for those with the funds to pay for it. Sorry 'bout that!) 

 

Now wondering if there will be an advancement to the Mrs. Spencer's maid material in a future update! :)


Review by IonaItova
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-18 00:38:25

From the little I played of it, nice game, but the need to scroll down so far to get to what I need to read is a bit... irritating after a while.


Review by eriahnostra
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-17 18:59:14

I have to say that I really like the content so far and that you can decide which kind of transformation you want to go through. Also the sissyfication content is interesting and I will be happy to see more content in future updates.


Review by art926
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-17 15:59:44

Great game! A good m/m content and no forced m2f transformations!


Review by Theacds
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-17 14:59:09

I like this. Good start! Obv. needs work, but who knos how great the final product will be?

 


Review by Mr_X1
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-17 13:07:34

I thought it was decent, actualy. it is a little glitchy, sometimes hair colors at lilys make you bald in the graffic, or procedures do not change your appearance in the graffic. it will be much btter when the club and mall are open, right now all you can do is change your appearance and look for a job. clothing often does not stay in the graffic so it makes it pointless. Overall it was fun to play and try different daily things.