Hard Times in Hornsville

Author: Unlikely
Version: 0.67
Last Updated: 2017-10-14 19:25:10


Review by exprmntle
Version reviewed: 0.65 on 2017-10-06 07:38:51

This is a fun game with a nice open structure and a several sexy subplots..


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.54 on 2017-08-28 01:15:14

It is a good game. Not as good as Perverted Education which has a centered theme, this one branches off and if you pick a not so interesting branch you may get bored. Now if you focus yourself in sub sissy maid path it is pretty neat. Hair stylor is something nice that can go deeper. Clinic can use some control so that people has to work for it. The maid path is nice, and the best part in this game. BDSM club is nice if you go the submissive path, I have not tried out the other paths.

What is behind the pay wall right now, is the mall, toys shop and another item or two, which is not a lot. What is already there is enough to make it interesting. The game starts to run out of content to me on the 30+ game days and I got past day 60s before I call it a quit. That says something.

I think if you like Perverted Education, you should at least give this one a chance.


Review by fixsxd
Version reviewed: 0.51 on 2017-08-21 14:22:03

hi

Majority of the content is under pay wall.

what is absolutely not false=>

A html game with a unity starter.

Basic stat and tf system that controlled by events.

the main contentis in multiple storylines that are half baked(not even 1 finished. exemp some gameover)

the game hasa modified avatar sytem (actual clothes are not suported)

this game provides many typ of fetish content but do not satisfy any of it.

 

Personal opinion:this game is like a klickbait. (hopefully prooven wrong in time)


Review by ekhnaton
Version reviewed: 0.42 on 2017-07-22 11:44:05

The game already had a lot of fun encounters but the last update made it even better. Both the maid storyline and the BDSM club are really well done and extremely hot with lots of diverse scenes. I'm not interested in the gay content and thankfully it's easy to avoid but there seems to be a lot of that as well.

This one is definietly worth a try. And if you don't pledge, make sure to check out the update too, once it becomes public. I hope the author will continue on like this for a long time.


Review by Cptn Spalding
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-19 17:26:24

    For a game in it's early stages, theres a lot of content here, and good content too. It gets a little grindy sometimes but I think that will become less of an issue as the game fleshes out a little more. Like most sandbox type games the encounters can get a little repetitive at times but the scenes serve their purpose and do it well

   I'd like to see a way of being able to see the same prostitute again, maybe get their phone number. Reason being is its time consuming trying to sift through the randomly generated prostitutes to find one with attributes you're looking for. I'd like to see a way to save the ones you like so you could us e them again.

   Games with Patreon pages seem to be getting more and more common these days, but I can honestly say Hard Times In Hornsville is worth pledging. I'm eager to see where this game goes.


Review by AliSlut
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-18 00:32:24

It seems pretty good so far, bit lacking content at the moment.  Really looking forward to seeing more from this game.


Review by Unlikely
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-17 16:39:58

I am adding this review to my own game because I have not found another way to respond.

I have recently added - hopefully clear - notes about what is and what isn't acessable for patrons and non patrons. I understand that it can be frustrating to see a big update and not being able to play it yet.
That said I will continue to update the game description in the current way. The reason for this is very simple. People who are thinking about whether or not they want to support the game should have clear information about what they will be getting access to. They won't be able to get this information easily otherwise through other channels.  Also some updates and bugfixes relate to the publicly avaiable content as well.
If you have decided that you will only ever play the public build you are very welcome to do so, however please understand that patrons and would be patrons are going to be a priority for me to get information out to. They are after all the singlular reason this game can be made with the current amount of content.

If you think this is some horrendusly unfair, nefarious scheme on my part then you can of course unlike the game, never play it again or just yell nasty things at me over the internet. You could also just wait for another month and access everything completely free.


Review by lingard
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-17 16:29:19

While the previous review is a bit harsh, to put it more diplomatically, I believe that most games running patreon tiers usually update here with the current PUBLIC build. Patreons are likely going directly to the patreon page, and those interested can follow the Support link on the sidebar.  It can be somewhat of a letdown to read about such a massive update, with NO indication the text that said update is patreon only (unless I just missed it on my tiny screen), only to be unable to access the content when clicking on the link to play or download.

 

Edit:

Oops, it IS there and I did miss it.

Still, it would be less of a cruel tease to just update the public build here.

Also, shouldn't 07.16 push 07.15 to public now ;P


Review by Someonelse
Version reviewed: 0.41 on 2017-07-17 07:55:34

So you updated it and posted about it here but the new content is only available to people who paid for it?

 

So basically you haven't updated it.

 

I'm taking away my like of this game screw you


Review by DarcWing21
Version reviewed: 0.4 on 2017-07-16 15:20:11

Love this game! Not sure what the issue is, but when I download and install it and try to run it, the play game window comes up, but upon clicking, it opens a new window with nothing in it. I've re-downloaded it twice and same issue. Am playing online for now until issue is resolved. Dealing with huge black space between character screen and text. Would suggest making character screen bigger and or variable in size. Keep up the good work.


Review by Pernitax
Version reviewed: 0.345 on 2017-07-08 08:05:04

It has a LOT of content despite clearly being in early development. I like how there are no annoying dead ends in the story (apart from the bad ends you can find) and it just goes into repeatable scenes when you reach the limits of the content, letting you explore elsewhere.
If you want to make a lot of precise transformations to your character then the game can get a bit repetitive (cos it costs a lot of money) but playing through the storylines with all the random events was well worth it.

I have actually refrianed from trying this out for a while because of the scrolling issues mentioned below but either they were fixed or I just got lucky because I didn't need to scroll except for some of the really long paragraphs but those are not common.

So yeah, this one is worth a try and I am eager to see where it will go.


Review by missrachellane
Version reviewed: 0.345 on 2017-06-29 21:34:11

Love what's here so far, absolutely worth a try if it sounds interesting to you. As long as the great work is kept up, this will be on the -must play- list.


Review by navigator_dan
Version reviewed: 0.343 on 2017-06-23 07:34:06

Good start. Exactly what fans of "easy transformation in open world" need. :-)

I hope that the author has enough stamina and time to continue with the development. Good luck.

 

P.S. Can we have save to file feature, please?


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 0.315 on 2017-06-20 09:41:16

The white space bug is fixed but as some one told before me we can rename the game to 'Scrol Down' that is spot on. (big pictures are prety but not after a long time)

This easily solved by placing it to the background or minisized to the right. (or simply code it to resize itself to screen size)

The game itself is not bad for an entrance :)

 


Review by Zer0zero
Version reviewed: 0.315 on 2017-06-20 09:04:10

This game is named incorrectly.  I think "Scrol down" would be a much more apt name.


Review by Vane
Version reviewed: 0.31 on 2017-06-19 10:01:29

Really nice implementation so far. Nice graphics and interface. Complexity is not too much to get lost in stats and not too little to become boring too fast, just about right dosage planned I think. Looks pretty stable to be expanded later.

Only con for me so far is the lack of content or choices. Many placeholders like the mall or strip club or current jobs available. If you are not interested in MM there currently is just the maid sissy path I think. With that you just do the same all the time and also with the crossdressing/ body transformation content, which I consider both rather as side stories, because the only choice is to go on with it or not (avoid bad ending) which seems the overall concept of most content and makes it repetitive.

 


Review by centerflag982
Version reviewed: 0.31 on 2017-06-19 04:52:08

Holy shit, a quasi-realistic lifesim with a full range of transgender/sexual options? Where have you been all my life?!

Seriously, the concept itself is enough for me to love it, even if it's somewhat limited in content at present.

 

That said, there's one particular issue that jumps out at me - as others have mentioned, the constant need to scroll to reach options at home and outside is kind of irritating. You might want to consider sizing down the images a bit, and reducing font size by one or two points as well.

There's also the fact that your character's portrait doesn't display your hairstyle - but I figure that's more just a WIP than a design decision. Oh, and that "shoulder-length" displays as (an IMO much less attractive) chin-length.


Review by Kelpsie
Version reviewed: 0.31 on 2017-06-18 23:37:10

Quite good so far. Loved the maid stuff, role reversal stuff like that really gets my goat.


Only major complaint I had was that whitespace bug, which you fixed.

 

Get some more content in there, and you'll have something great c:


Review by bearclaw01234
Version reviewed: 0.31 on 2017-06-18 22:44:09

It sounded very interesting so i thought to try it (i normally don't go to external sites just to play games on here), & just started so can't give a review yet..  though it certainly would help if there was a download link for the game.


Review by johnnynod
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-18 09:45:41

I'd like to see a gender-switch option...preferably a slow transition...for those who are into that kind of thing.

 

(EDIT 6/18: My bad! Gender switch options are indeed implemented within the "Lab" options for those with the funds to pay for it. Sorry 'bout that!) 

 

Now wondering if there will be an advancement to the Mrs. Spencer's maid material in a future update! :)


Review by IonaItova
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-18 00:38:25

From the little I played of it, nice game, but the need to scroll down so far to get to what I need to read is a bit... irritating after a while.


Review by eriahnostra
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-17 18:59:14

I have to say that I really like the content so far and that you can decide which kind of transformation you want to go through. Also the sissyfication content is interesting and I will be happy to see more content in future updates.


Review by art926
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-17 15:59:44

Great game! A good m/m content and no forced m2f transformations!


Review by Theacds
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-17 14:59:09

I like this. Good start! Obv. needs work, but who knos how great the final product will be?

 


Review by Mr_X1
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2017-06-17 13:07:34

I thought it was decent, actualy. it is a little glitchy, sometimes hair colors at lilys make you bald in the graffic, or procedures do not change your appearance in the graffic. it will be much btter when the club and mall are open, right now all you can do is change your appearance and look for a job. clothing often does not stay in the graffic so it makes it pointless. Overall it was fun to play and try different daily things.