Adventure High

Author: Changer
Version: 0.4.1
Last Updated: 2017-11-24 00:14:36


Review by Arothe
Version reviewed: 0.4.1 on 2017-12-02 15:08:06

Every time I try to play this "game" I get the same problem. Wake up to some text, hit the "next" button a bunch, that button stops doing what it's supposed to, so I hit the "fast forward" button one time and everything goes by really fast and I can't stop it, then it stops at the school scene where the girl asks you to go into "the dungeon" and offers you some choices. At this point, nothing I do actually does anything. I can't select an option, I can't hit next, I can't skip, un-obvious potential clickables (if that's even a thing) certainly don't do anything either.

It doesn't matter if I play in browser, DL the html and open in browser, or even playing in the debug standalone adobe flash. IT ALL JUST HAPPENS THE SAME EXACT WAY EVERY TIME. It doesn't even change with version updates to this "game". Am I missing something critical here? Because as things currently stand, there may as well just be no content whatsoever.


Review by FAFNSucks
Version reviewed: 0.3.2 on 2017-03-15 07:18:18

A very interesting game, although a flawed one. I give the creator major points for ambition as this is a unique take on the RPG system with a ton of branching paths like a visual novel.

 

I'll go through my criticism first:

I thought the art was very poor, however I did get used to it after playing long enough. The eyes are too big and dominate the face, the bodies disfigured, and the buildings all feel like placeholder MS Paint art. However, I feel like I want to urge people that even if you are not good with graphics to try anyways, and I will actually give this game some brownie points for trying as I will take a game with less than passable graphics any day over another purely text based CoC clone.

Combat was repetitive. An easy fix is to add an auto system to choose for characters, that way you can just sit back and masturbate relax. Most of the time it passes fast, but sometimes a single enemy lasts forever.

The "porn"/fetish aspect of it is a slow burn. I actually don't mind this much as it makes a payoff more rewarding (unless it's disappointing) but I sunk nearly 2 hours into this game and all that I managed to do was turn my best friend into a bimbo. I couldn't even talk with her ever after I did this to get some interesting conversations or at least look at her picture (but all that really changed is her hair colour) so it felt fairly pointless other than some dialogue scenes where she spoke in the bubbly wording.

All that being said, I still enjoyed this. I noticed it's largely funded by a patreon apparently- I don't think I'd pay for this yet but I'd like to keep a close eye on it. The fact that you can use any spell on any character during set points and get different functions based on what you're doing is very interesting and allows for branching paths. However all this choice seems to stretch the game a bit thin as it's incredibly ambitious and will take a long time to get finished. You can only talk to characters when the game lets you- this is expected as it would be a writing nightmare to have to think of unique dialogue for every day and every scene. However, it also makes the game feel empty.

Bottom line: it's easier to criticize than to praise so despite all I said I still recommend checking this out, but these are the issues I had with it


Review by Chop2005
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2017-01-21 10:08:29

I keep getting warning that this is  a trogan. O.o


Review by GoldenCone
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2017-01-20 10:28:03

A very good game, but irritating to play because of the fact that you can only be in your room after leaving the dungeon. Very good mind control content and varied paths carry this game, but the gameplay is fairly dry and the UI isn't great. A quick access bar to let you use spells with the number inputs would be a good quality-of-life feature.


Review by Black Death
Version reviewed: 0.2.3 on 2016-05-28 07:21:04

that feel when you think your blowing a load to another slave sequence but its actually a losing sequence. sweet jesus. MC isn't even my thing and this shit has me harder than calculus. denattaden would reccomend


Review by Nova25
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2016-04-20 16:27:38

Ok, sooo...

When I click on the 'novacorp-online' link, I get THIS :

 

« Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition has blocked a page!

Malware detected!
Access to this page has been blocked. »

 

I expect some details, here.


Review by renonymous
Version reviewed: 0.1.5 on 2015-09-22 01:24:48

Adventure High is currently a short, enjoyable game with a few flaws.

What this game has going for it is: funny dialogue; a fun and (seemingly) original world of magic; original, Flash animations; lots of potential for erotic content.

Where it's weakest right now: pacing!! Combat is lobotomizingly simple and repetitive--which is almost a good thing for how often you have to trigger fight sequences. The game progresses two ways: stumbling around dungeons until you find notes while monsters attempt to ambush you whenever possible (as in, sometimes, less than a second after your last encounter); and leveling up via fighting those same monsters over and over and over. The player receives little affirmation for their efforts because beating monsters rewards nothing but experience while the player has no way of knowing whether their level unlocked a new scene except by leaving the dungeon (and then coming all the way back). There aren't even any post-victory dialogue or sex scenes to break up the monotony--nor any post-defeat rape scenes as far as I know (it's so hard to actually lose a fight that even doing nothing results in a win once you get your second, uncontrollable companion).

Nonetheless, I look forward to seeing where this game goes.